How the Squares are organised

You can start right here to learn how the chess board is organized. There are 64 squares and each square has a unique description.

This is necessary because you have to write down your moves when you play a serious game in a chess club.

And when you know the description of the squares you can quite easily replay games you find in chess magazines or chess books.

So, here we go…

chess board

Above you see the lines of the chess board. They go up and down. The c-line is marked. Open lines are usually controlled by the rocks and the queen.chess board

Above you see the rows or ranks. They go from left to right or vice versa.
Just understand the difference between rows (ranks) and lines. That is enough.
chess board

Above you can see that every square on a chess board has a description. I just put the description on some squares.

Look at the square g7. If the black king would move to g7 then you would write on your notation sheet: Kg7

Got it? Pretty easy, isn’t it?

Or if the white king moves to f4, then you write down Kf4.

A chess-board has sixty-four squares.

Learn the following Shortcuts for the pieces:

Rook = R Knight = N Bishop = B Queen = Q King = K Pawn = nothing

When a pawn moves, you just write down the square name:

This means, a pawn has moved to d7!



Be the first to comment on "How the Squares are organised"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.